Letsgetbasted

Budgeting each bite

Mexican Chicken Quesadilla and Homemade Guacamole

Recently, I’ve had a minor obsession with guacamole.  I was super excited to make some today to fit into this weeks theme, “around the world.”  Guacamole is extremely easy and cheap to make.  I took the easy way out considering I need to spend all of my time studying for midterms (unfortunately).  I bought a 99 cent guacamole mix package, two avocados and used some sour cream and a tomato I already had.  Grab a large bowl, spoon, fork and knife and begin! You have to cut the avacados open vertically, take out the seed and then scrape all of the contents out of the skin.  Then, you add the mix package.  I added about 2 tablespoons and some chopped up tomato because I already had it in the fridge but it is not necessary.  Take a fork and mash up the avocado while mixing in all the ingredients.  Refrigerate for 30 minutes and then enjoy!  The perfect appetizer if you are having a few friends over for pre-spring break margaritas 🙂

Ingredients:

   *2 avacaods
   *99 cent guacamole mix package
   *sour cream (not necessary)
   *chopped tomato (not necessary)

There is enough guacamole to have a little bit with chips on the side of every lunch I prepare this week!

 

 

Lunch

I decided to make a whole mexican meal by preparing a chicken quesadilla as well.

To prepare the quesadilla I used already cooked frozen chicken strips which I found at Food Lion.  You can use any type of cooked chicken, meat, shrimp, etc or even stick to plain cheese!  I heated up a skillet on medium and then defrosted the chicken for about 4 minutes.  Once the chicken was ready I slid the chicken onto a tortilla, added some cheese and then folded it in half to melt it all together.  After about two minutes I flipped it over and allowed another minute of heating.  Once the cheese was melted I slide the quesadulla off the skillet onto a college favorite- a paper plate- and put on a dallop of sour cream and guacamole.

Ingredients:

*Chicken
*Cheese
Tortilla

delicioso!

Spring Break count down: 3 days!!

-Katie

P.s. If we make your mouth water….. like us on Facebook and follow us on twitter!

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

